Zucchini Stuffed Chicken

We’re trying to use just the food we have on hand this week because this is a poor week for us. Yes, we live paycheck to paycheck and have tight weeks, budget-wise. I realize how bad that is financially.

I admit to not being creative in the kitchen. I pulled some frozen boneless skinless chicken breasts and some shredded zucchini out of the freezer and tried to find a recipe to fit that.

After searching through about six books, I finally found a recipe. It’s from a church cookbook that’s been so well used that the cover and first 12 pages have disappeared and don’t know what church it’s from anymore. The recipe is courtesy of Mrs. Wm. Nussbaum. Bless her soul, I have no idea who she is but I’m sure she’s long gone from this earth. I’ve made other recipes of hers and they are delicious.

I made Zucchini Stuffed Chicken tonight for supper. It was actually a hit with K. Big surprise because he does not like vegetables especially zucchini. I was okay with it. It didn’t knock my socks off. Don’t get me wrong. It was good but if I can find something with veggies in it that my family will eat, it will be made again.

I wish I had a picture to post but my camera seems to have been misplaced. It’s not the prettiest meal anyway so maybe it’s better if you use your imagination. I’m not one of those food bloggers with beautiful tableware and a pretty kitchen to take photos of anyway.

I also made Maple Butterscotch Brownies tonight. Good but I have to tweak the baking time and temp before I can post it on here.

Zucchini Stuffed Chicken

Ingredients

3 tablespoons butter
1/4 cup chopped onion
1 tablespoon minced fresh parsley or 1 teaspoon dried parsley flakes
1/2 teaspoon dried basil
2 cups shredded zucchini
3 slices bread, torn into coarse crumbs (I just zipped it about in my food processor)
1 egg, beaten
3/4 cup shredded cheddar cheese (or whatever you have on hand)
1/2 teaspoon salt
1/8 teaspoon pepper or a bit more if you like things with pepper
4 boneless skinless chicken breasts

In skillet, melt butter over medium-high heat. Sauté onion, parsley and basil until onion is tender. Add zucchini and cook 2 minutes longer. Remove from heat; stir in bread crumbs, egg, cheese, salt and pepper. Slice the breasts lengthwise on one side about 3/4 way in so it makes a pocket. Stuff each breast with the zucchini mixture and place in a greased 9 x 13 x 2 inch pan. Bake at 375* for 45-55 minutes or until juices run clear.

(I adapted this from a recipe that used bone-in breasts with skin. If you use those, stuff filling underneath skin and bake 50-60 minutes or until juices run clear.)

What's your thought on this?

