A Few Thoughts on Beyonce

So, the rumor mill has started with the help of some pretty good photographic evidence.

That’s right.

Beyonce may be faking her pregnancy. She sat down in front of the camera on an Australian TV show and her belly just deflated. WTH?

20111011-161807.jpgsource

I’m not writing about this because it’s juicy gossip or because I feel the need to rip her apart.

Looking at this from the perspective of an infertile, I can see why she would do this. Pregnancy is big in Hollywood. You can’t pick up a gallon of milk without seeing multiple magazines speculating whether this or that celebrity is hiding her bump or showing off her newborn. Babies make for lots of good publicity. And when a power couple like Beyonce and Jay-Z announce that their expecting, it makes them seem a lot more human.

Now imagine leading such a public life and having fertility issues. Or choosing to use a surrogate so pregnancy doesn’t ruin your body, which just happens to be a major part of your career?

I guess if I was in Beyonce’s shoes, I would have a hard time admitting to the public that I don’t lead this perfect life. What I mean is, she has a great career, husband, life, etc., so maybe she thinks that admitting that they have trouble conceiving or choose to use a surrogate because of career/body issues is admitting that she’s not perfect.

Even I, who nobody outside my little circle really cares about, have a hard time telling people we are having trouble conceiving. And when everyone and their sisters are popping out kids left and right, it seems like you are left out of the popular girls crowd. And when the media is saying it’s the coolest thing to be pregnant now, it makes a person feel like crap that they can’t get that right. I can’t imagine what it would like to have a public personality and have to say, “my lady parts are broken. I needed assistance.”. I know the pressure I put on myself to get pregnant is already intense enough, but to also have pressure (imagined or not) from media would make a woman feel pretty desperate.

I don’t care how she comes about having a family. Whether she pops one out herself, has a surrogate do it for her, or chooses to adopt a child that is truly in need of a loving home, the choice is ultimately between her and her husband. A child is a blessing, no matter what, and the media should never make a woman feel bad because she chooses a different path to motherhood.

But she shouldn’t be pretending to be pregnant for publicity either. Just man up and admit that you needed help, if that’s the case.

Just a few rambling thoughts of mine at six in the morning.

Have a terrific Wednesday.

One thought on “A Few Thoughts on Beyonce

  1. I haven’t really paid attention to this story until now. How sad if she really is “faking it”. To be so in the spotlight that you cant even deal with whatever reason you have for not carrying your child really stinks.

What's your thought on this?

