Thruuuuummmmmm…….

So, I forgot to post about what happened early Tuesday morning. This will be a post with TMI so all you readers of the masculine persuasion and those grossed out by the female body can freely choose to not read this. I won’t be offended. I’ll even leave some space so you don’t accidentally read anything that you find distasteful.

You aren’t gone yet?

Okay, now that the more sensitive of my readers have left the room, let’s get started.

I take vitex to regulate my cycles. I had run out of it a couple months ago and kept forgetting to pick up more. Well, I told you all about my *whispering* (female troubles). How I’ve had my period for a month. It totally sucks. I even passed out. I went to the doctor, who I wasn’t happy with, but what could I do? My regular doc was out on medical leave. She was a twit. I should have gone to my gyno but I had made two appointments, which were cancelled because of childbirth, two weeks before. She prescribed Provera and said I would stop bleeding while on it, have a heavy period after taking 10 days worth, and to call if I was still bleeding two weeks after stopping the Provera. She didn’t even test my iron levels to see if I was anemic.

So I took the Provera. And kept bleeding while on it. Which is lovely when your back is out. I called the doctor’s office and was told that some people still bleed and was told the same two week thing. Not satisfied at all. And with my back, I really didn’t feel up to driving the hour to Green Bay to see my gyno.

So Monday, I stopped in and bought my little bottle of vitex from the local natural remedies store. I took my three doses for the day and went to bed.

I woke up around 1:30 with some strange sensations going on. My lower back was feeling weird, an achey feeling but not hurting achey. It’s hard to describe. It was like the lower backache I get right before my period starts but it didn’t hurt. And I had this thrumming feeling in my uterus. It just felt so alive. You know when the power lines make that humming noise after an ice storm? It was that noise turned into a feeling.

So I got up to empty my Diva cup thinking I was gonna start bleeding even heavier than I was already. Nope, it was practically empty. And I have been bleeding less and less every day. Happy dance!!

Do you know how nice it is to not worry about my cup filling up in a few hours? And K and I had actually had sex. I had to wear a Softcup but who cares? It had been almost two months! K was not happy with the situation, but what could I do? Now we’ve had so much that I had to take my old Macrobid prescription. Sorry, too much. But this ain’t Facebook, nobody I know reads this, and a blog about infertility would be an appropriate place to say this.

So, I don’t know if it’s because of the Provera or the vitex, but I’m so glad that I’m starting to feel normal. I have a feeling it’s the vitex though. Do you know it’s what I took to get regulate my cycles when I got pregnant the second time? I know it’s gonna work again. And now we have a deadline as K turns 41 next spring. No, we don’t really have a deadline. Well, maybe 45 years old.

If you want to learn more about vitex, check this out.

I take 400 mg three times daily until I have somewhat regular cycles. I then take 400 mg once a day until ovulation has occurred (confirmed by BBT charting), then I take it twice a day until my period starts. I’ve read conflicting information about taking it once pregnancy occurs. Most sources state that you should stop taking it once pregnancy is confirmed but I have also seen quite a few that state to keep taking it during the first trimester because it supports progesterone production. I have not really made the decision on what I’ll do when I become preggo. I’m kind of leaning towards taking it. I haven’t seen anything that cites cases that it harmed a fetus. I am willing to take that risk.

Anywho, I’ll keep you updated on how things are going.

What's your thought on this?

