No ‘Poo

Image

In a few of the blogs I follow, I keep hearing about not using shampoo.  I was intrigued.  I thought maybe I should try it.  It took me awhile to make the switch.  Mainly because I had just bought quite a few jumbo bottles of shampoo and conditioner. 

What is no ‘poo?

Well, it’s a way of cleaning your hair that uses only baking soda and apple cider vinegar.  This website has lots of great info on how to do it that is very detailed.  I just keep a Mason jar of baking soda and a one cup measuring cup in my bathroom so I don’t have to run around looking for things.  I mix 1 tablespoon of baking soda in with a full cup of water and just pour onto my scalp.  I massage it  for a bit then rinse.  I then spritz a mixture of ACV and mostly water on my hair, give a few seconds then rinse it out quickly.  Done.

I have just started four days ago but I am already impressed.  My hair has body.  It curls and waves slightly.  It no longer just hangs there.   And, best of all, my dandruff is greatly improved.  I’m kind of nervous because they say there is an adjustment phase and your hair can get greasy.  I hate going around with greasy hair. 

 

Have you tried no ‘poo?  What did you think?  Have you stuck with it?

One thought on “No ‘Poo

  1. I use only Sulfates free shampoo because I react to sulfates. So, I still use ‘poo, just a less damaging kind. My hair is very curly/wavy and really thick and I just don’t dare not use anything other than baking-soda. Kudos to you. That took some courage I’d bet. After reading ‘Curly Girl’ I stopped using a brush or comb and only use a sulfate free conditioner to detangle my hair. It’s never looked better. I have a friend no hasn’t used ‘poo in ages and she loves it. She uses natural stuff including baking soda.

What's your thought on this?

